The Alzheimer’s Association Recognizes Lusby Resident

March 13, 2013
Dennis Poremski

Dennis Poremski

The Alzheimer’s Association National Capital Area Chapter recognized twelve individuals as Inspiring Champions at a special reception on January 31 at its corporate offices in Fairfax, VA.

Among the honorees are Lusby resident Dennis Poremski, who was honored for exemplary commitment to the Walk to End Alzheimer’s.

Mr. Poremski, Director of Wellness at Asbury Solomons, has spearheaded the Walk to End Alzheimer’s in Solomons for more than seven years. This highly-popular event averages nearly $75,000 raised and more than 500 participants annually. Mr. Poremski leads a team of residents who walk and/or volunteer for this annual event, collaborates with community leaders and Chapter staff on the event recruitment, logistics, awareness and fundraising, and helps to secure the continued participation of local and state elected officials.

The Alzheimer’s Association Walk to End Alzheimer’s is the nation’s largest event to raise awareness and funds for Alzheimer’s care, support and research. Walks are held in more than 600 communities across the country each fall.

The Inspiring Champions Awards program recognizes valuable “above and beyond” contributions of time, talent and resources to the Alzheimer’s Association National Capital Area Chapter. The annual program also serves to thank and honor volunteers who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

The twelve Inspiring Champions are (in alphabetical order):

Terry Berry
Extraordinary commitment to advocacy for the fight against Alzheimer’s

Rick Gow
Distinguished work in promoting Alzheimer’s awareness

Lilly Harris
Outstanding fundraising accomplishments for Blondes vs. Brunettes

Greta Kreuz

Distinguished Work in promoting Alzheimer’s awareness

Phyllis Koudelka
Exemplary commitment to volunteerism for the Chapter

Jane Ottenberg and Richard Creighton
Extraordinary commitment to leadership and support of special events

Dennis Poremski
Exemplary commitment to the Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Marilyn and Stefan Tucker
Extraordinary fundraising leadership for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Elizabeth (Liz) Williamson
Exemplary commitment to volunteerism for the Chapter

Janet Wright
Outstanding Team Captain Leadership for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: , ,