Accolades for St. Mary’s Ryken Students

November 18, 2011
From the left (back row): Alex Wyvill, Michael Booz and Nathan Luke; From the left (front row): Amanda Rankin, Aryton Starks and Jennifer Pietsch

St. Mary’s Ryken High School is proud to announce that three students in the Class of 2012 have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program and one student has been named a Semifinalist.

Alexander J. Wyvill, of Hollywood, Md., earned Semifinalist status in the National Merit Scholarship Pro-gram, meaning he has placed among the top 1% of more than 1.5 million high school students who en-tered the competition by taking the PSAT (Preliminary SAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Students earning Commended status are among the top 5% of those who participate in the competition. Commended students are Nathan Luke of Leonardtown, Md.; Jennifer Pietsch of Leonardtown, Md.; and Amanda Rankin of Brandywine, Md.

Senior Ayrton Starks of Waldorf, Md., has been named an Outstanding Participant in the National Achievement Scholarship Program. She scored in the top 3% of more than 160,000 Black Americans who requested consideration when they took the PSAT (Preliminary SAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Michael Booz of Callaway, Md., has been recognized as a Scholar in the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP).  This honor is bestowed on approximately 2-3% of students who took the PSAT and identified themselves as Hispanic/Latino, and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Twenty-two students were named Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars, granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams; four were named AP Scholars with Honor, granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken; seven students were named AP Scholars with Distinction, granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken. Approximately 17% of high school students worldwide who participate in the AP program, merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

Brothers’ sponsorship dedicated to academic excellence and individualized student growth. Each year, approximately 99% of graduates go on to college and the Class of 2011 earned $12.8 million in scholarship

AP Scholar Class of 2011
Steven Achille, Leonardtown, Md.
Kristen Beck, Great Mills, Md.
Joseph Capstaff, California, Md.
Erin Gough, Mechanicsville, Md.
Marianne Hamilton, Port Tobacco, Md.
Nicholas Jarboe, Lexington Park, Md.
Meghan Neace, Hollywood, Md.
Jungbok Park, California, Md.
Molly Pinkas, Hughesville, Md.
Elizabeth Raley, Ridge, Md.
Kelsey Roberts, White Plains, Md.
Camilla Rodgers, Piney Point, Md.
Kane Roland, Hughesville, Md.
Emily Simmons, Hollywood, Md.
Mairead Slaughter, Leonardtown, Md.
Amanda Taylor, Leonardtown, Md.
Brendan Walsh, Patuxent River, Md.
Kenneth Yekstat, Chaptico, Md.

Class of 2011
Neil Burke, California, Md.
Kalin Hanson, Leonardtown, Md.
Kaitlyn Herr, Mechanicsville, Md.
Amanda Rankin, Brandywine, Md.

AP Scholar with Honor Class of 2011
Victoria Brown, Leonardtown, Md.
Brian Dicola Lexington Park, Md.
Matthew Dowdle, California, Md.
Jaclyn Grigg, Mechanicsville, Md.

AP Scholar with Distinction Class of 2011
Michael Deluca, Lexington Park, Md.
Zachary Griffitt, Great Mills, Md.
John Houser, Chaptico, Md.
Harrison Matthews, Patuxent River, Md.
Keara Schmeiser, Patuxent River, Md.
Taylor Spencer, Mechanicsville, Md.

Class of 2012
Alexander Wyvill, Hollywood, Md.

Tags: , , , , , , ,