CSM Celebrates Longevity, Loyalty

March 30, 2013

CSM Longevity & LoyaltyThe College of Southern Maryland recognized 76 employees with a combined 875 years of service to the college at the 27th Annual Service Recognition Ceremony and Reception on Feb. 22 at the La Plata Campus.

Among those honored was Gayle Becker, lead operations manager, College Store, Leonardtown Campus who has served the college for 35 years.

“It’s been a pleasure to serve the community, students, faculty and staff of CSM for these many years. I feel honored when past students stop by the Leonardtown store to tell me how they are doing and what’s happening in their lives. During cap and gown distribution week, I’m just as proud of the students’ success as their parents,” said Becker.

“Gayle’s mantra is ‘Do what’s best for the college and what is best for its students,’” said CSM Vice President of Advancement Michelle Goodwin. “She lives the values of the college every day,”
said Goodwin.

“The one constant here [in the years since being a student at CSM in 1974] is a deeply loyal team,” said CSM Board of Trustees Chair Austin J. Slater Jr. “The buildings are brick and mortar and inanimate; it’s the people that come in here and deliver the valuable services that are so critical to helping the population of Southern Maryland improve itself and get better jobs and provide better services. Thank you, thank you; the work you do is truly awesome,” Slater told employees gathered for the reception.

CSM employees honored for years of service at the college are:

Five years: Joseph Adams, Ellen Bertelsen, Michael Blakeley, Steven Chapman, Melba Fetty, Michele Fox-Stotlemyer, Melvina Frazier, Laura Jackson, Heather Jeffries, Terry Jordan, Robin Kahler, Marcia Kent, Lisa Kreiser, Kathleen McClure, Tonia Miles-Carvana, Ricardo Perez, Senay Riner, Karen Russell, Elizabeth Settle, Beverly Shoaf, Andrew Smith, George Spiegel, Albert Swann, Richard Taylor and Nathan Welch.

10 years: Cami Cooley, Kimberley Donnelly, Gobi Gopinath, James Graves, Beth Hawkins, Stephen Hawks, Wendy Hume, Renee Jenkins, James Leapley, Jennifer Lesesne, Ruena Long, Sarah Merranko, Sandra Poinsett, Laura Polk, Donald Posey, Daphne Powell, Eileen Richards, Julie Sackfield, Donna Sperry, Jennifer Van Cory, Arthur Viterito, Lisa Warren and Audrey Yoho.

15 years: Turner Coggins, Pamela Coppins, Eleazer Ekwue, Henry Geer, Kenneth Glassman, Goodwin, Larry Johnson, Kathleen Lauber, Angela Murphy, Valerie Nyce, Susan Ross, Beverly Russell, Joan Shelley and Howard Walker.

20 years: Neal Dwyer, Tina Edmondson-Berry, Mary Hunt, Gladys Jones, Ellen Wright Lopez, Carolin McManus, Lori Shupe, Jody Simpson, John Terlesky and Maurice Wade.

25 years: Brenda Jones, Athena Miklos and Perry Taylor

35 years: Gayle Becker

For information on employment opportunities at CSM, visit http://www.csmd.edu/employment/.

Tags: , , , ,