Governor Larry Hogan Submits 160 “Green Bag” Appointments

February 20, 2018

Over 13 Percent of Names Submitted Will Fill Roles on Boards Focused on Education

Governor Larry Hogan today submitted 160 appointments to the Maryland State Senate. Secretary of Appointments Chris Cavey presented Senate President Thomas V. “Mike” Miller with the names of the “Green Bag” nominees.

“Marylanders deserves nothing less than the most capable and well-qualified representatives for these critically important positions and the names submitted today uphold that commitment,” said Governor Hogan. “I am delighted that these appointments reflect the diverse nature of our state, and I look forward to seeing the excellent work they will accomplish as we continue to change Maryland for the better.”

Reflecting the administration’s commitment to making Maryland more business-friendly, Governor Hogan has nominated six members to the Maryland Economic Development Commission. Members include: Scott D. Burger, Baltimore County; Annemarie Dickerson, Worcester County; Aris Melissaratos, Baltimore County; Susan C. Schwab, Anne Arundel County; Laura A. Neuman, Anne Arundel County; Manish D. Kothari, Montgomery County.

Governor Hogan also made two nominations to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents, one to Morgan State University, and nine nominations to Community College Boards of Trustees, highlighting the state’s commitment to ensuring that our already strong public higher education system continues to strengthen and prosper.

“The men and women appointed today represent all parts of Maryland, and showcase the Hogan administration’s commitment to empowering individuals from all ethnic and professional backgrounds,” said Secretary Cavey. “I am proud of the process that has allowed Governor Hogan to fill these vitally important leadership positions with experienced individuals that are eager to serve our great state.”

This year’s “Green Bag” includes appointment nominations for more than 70 different boards and commissions. A sample of the nominations includes:

  • Samantha B. LaMell, Esq., Baltimore County – Amusement Ride Safety Advisory Board
  • Donald G. Housley, Jr., Montgomery County – Advisory Committee on Archaeology
  • John F. Banghart, IV, Talbot County – Maryland Auto Insurance Fund Trustees
  • Nelson Miranda, Harford County – Board of Chiropractic Examiners
  • Joan A. Mele-McCarthy, Calvert County – State Board of Education
  • Barbara Paca, Ph.D., Talbot County – Maryland Historical Trust Board of Trustees
  • Hon. Eric M. Johnson, Montgomery County – Lottery and Gaming Control Commission
  • Kirk A. Helfenbein, Kent County – Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors
  • Dr. Matthew J. Allaway, Allegany County – Board of Physicians
  • Sheila M. Smith, Carroll County – Board of Physicians
  • Myra W. Norton, Baltimore County – Technology Development Corporation
  • Robert L. Wallace, Baltimore City – University System Board of Regents
  • William T. Wood, Esq., Montgomery County – University System Board of Regents
  • Clarence C. Crawford, Prince George’s County – Washington Suburban Transit Commission

Dating back to 17th-century England, the term “Green Bag” refers to the green satchel that is used once every year to bring the gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. It is a longstanding tradition for a member of the governor’s staff to deliver the bag once a year to the Maryland State Senate.

A list of the “Green Bag” appointments 2018+Green+Bag+Appointments.pdf

One Response to Governor Larry Hogan Submits 160 “Green Bag” Appointments

  1. Political Assylum on February 22, 2018 at 9:13 am

    This guy must be a RINO.

    He should duct tape a green bag around his neck.